Tags

, , , , ,

This is the right way to respond to a casting controversy! Thanks go out to the Asian American Performers Action Coalition for their work in bringing attention to this issue, and to Dallas Summer Musicals for reevaluating what they were doing.

Dallas Summer Musicals

Glenn Casale and I are in receipt of your numerous emails and form emails. The reason for the delay in answering is that during the holidays I was in the hospital, and I have been recovering at home from a deadly blood disease.

First, Mr. Casale, our Director, has directed multiple years of productions using not only Asian actors and actresses, but diverse ethnic groups. Second, I have produced probably the most shows using Asian actors and actresses. For example, Flower Drum Song on Broadway, Flower Drum Song national tour, Brooklyn the Musical, and Bombay Dreams, just to name a few.

I can assure you that neither Glenn Casale nor I ever intended or conceived a thought that this would be disruptive, negative or disrespectful to anyone.

It’s interesting. Going back in the history of The King and I, Mr. Yul Brenner was actually from Russia, and…

View original post 201 more words

